Thursday, July 16, 2009

The Outback!

Finding out we couldn't hire a small car and the price for a 4WD vehicle was out of our pockets range, we were a little startled, but ended up finding a nice looking semi-cheap 3 day tour to Ayer's Rock and King's Canyon. We spent the night in Alice Springs first, bought shoes for the hike, took a hike down a dry river to a watering hole, and spent the night in the hostel awaiting our 5:30 wake up for the bus. So far we havn't gotten to aclimate to the time change because we've been getting up super early to do stuff every day and been exhaustedly crashing at 7-8ish every night.

Anyway Alice Springs is crazy. People are very racist toward the Aboriginal people and their culture makes no sense. They look like primitive folks wearing Hip-Hop attire and are primarly drunk when we see them. We walked back late at night to the hostel and could hear them yelling around at eachother, it was pretty wild. Kind of like being in the woods. But the concrete jungle I suppose. We later found out thyat aborignies in the cities are those who have been kicked out of their tribes for being wickity wackity shaw.

So our bus arrives and this crazy Aussie guy jumps out, we throw our bags in this trailer attached to the back of a bus and are on our way. The trip was awesome!!!! But it was freeeeeeezing. We ate camel burgers, saw some kangaroos, they are wicked sweet. We hiked the Devil's Marbles, then watched the sunset on Ayer's Rock. It is enormous and beautiful. When I upload the pictures you will see.

We went back to camp when it got dark and slept in our sleeping bags and things called "swags" which are like over cover sleeping bags with a built mattress pretty much, very comfortable. The temperatue both nights was below freezing and we woke up with ice on our swags. Luckily Derek bought us 0 degree sleeping bags, so we were quite toasty.

The stars were absolutely phenomenal. The constilations are different because we are in the Southern Hemisphere, so unfortunately I couldn't use my infamous stars move on this cute girl I met from Canada. Maybe I'll learn some others quickly.....

Uluru was awesome, we didn't climb it because apparently it is extremely disrespectful, but we hiked around it which was still really sweet. We also hiked in King's Canyon, which was awesome as well. Everything has been a humbling, awesome, non-stop, great experience. We are meeting crazy people from everywhere and I wish I could put all the goofy stories that are going on on here, but I'm spending enough money on internet cards as it is for these less than eventful posts. They'll get better when I get to settle down though. We're alive for all those worried (mom and Bebe) so cheers for now.

No comments:

Post a Comment